John Scott Health Care Commission Meeting Wednesday, April 24, 2019 Illinois Prairie Community Foundation 915 E. Washington Street, Suite 2, Bloomington 4:30-6:30 pm

Approved May 22, 2019

<u>Commission members present:</u> Holly Ambuehl, Dr. John Couillard, Deb Halperin ,Dr. Scott Hamilton, Donna Hartweg, Angie McLaughlin, Deb Skillrud, Dr. Jim Swanson, Brandi Sweeney, Sue Grant <u>Staff Administrator present</u>: Jennifer Toney

- I. The meeting was called to order by at 4:30 pm by Chair Sue Grant. The first hour of the meeting was community information and discussion of the grant processes currently "under construction," in order to be ready to accept applications later this summer.
- II. Donna emphasized the importance of the purpose and objectives related to Judge Scott's wishes and the grant guidelines & policies.

Holly Ambuehl presented a Community Needs overview based on research and interviews she has been doing related to her work; this will be important information as the commission moves forward with grant applications/review of grants/approval of grants. The FY20 Request for Proposals (RFP) should be based on community engagement, local needs, and known opportunities. Both the Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA) and the Community Health Improvement Plan (CHIP) will be utilized as rationale for grant requests. The county's Mental Health plan is another document that may be used. Grant questions will be tied to objectives within the current Community Health Improvement Plan.

Grant applicants will be asked to demonstrate gaps (unaddressed community needs), collaborative efforts with other community agencies, and to utilize census tract data in their proposals. Holly discussed the concept that "zip code matters more than genetic code" in relation to social determinants of health.

A question that will be asked is "what do we wish funders knew?" This is a result of the Commission's discussion in September, 2018, with representatives from agencies currently funded by JMS. The consideration of multiple year funding came from that meeting as well.

- III. There is work being done in the community in the mental health arena by multiple agencies. The commission will need to stay current with happenings related to mental health in McLean County in order to assess grant applications.
- IV. The February meeting minutes were approved (no March meeting of the Commission) as were the administrative staff invoices for February and March.
- V. Jennifer presented a brief staff administrator's report. She will send a reminder email to current JMS grant recipients reminding them of the need to submit their annual report.
- VI. Grants Committee update included information presented in the first hour of the meeting. It was pointed out that the new funding model for JMS grants allows for capital projects. A

discussion of grants criteria will be held at the next meeting of the Grants committee on May 13, 2019; meeting time is 1-3 pm.

- VII. The court report went out to commission members to review. D. Hartweg asked about the inclusion of the dental extraction clinic at the oral surgeons' office as an activity of the JMS Health Care Commission. Deb Skillrud advised that Township and JMS sent notices to community agencies about the opportunity and also referred clients there. Due to time constraints, it was decided to ask members to review and then approve at the next meeting of the commission.
- VIII. The budget for FY20 has been approved by the city council. An audit of FY19 fiscal matters will be done in 2020.
- IX. We thanked Donna Hartweg, who is going off the commission, for her years of service and her instrumental role, in moving to an all-grants model with oversight of the commission by the city. She spent a great deal of time and did lots of legwork to meet with folks and create appropriate documents to assure a smooth transition. Donna has agreed to remain a member of the Grants committee.

Dr. Colton Sylvester, DMD, a local dentist, has agreed to fill one of the vacant seats on the commission. Chair Grant asked for a motion to approve Dr. Sylvester; Dr. Hamilton made the motion to approve with a second from Dr. Couillard. Dr. Sylvester was unanimously approved. His appointment will go to the City Council for formal appointment.

Dr. Swanson moved to approve the proposed slate of officers for FY2020; Deb Skillrud seconded the motion. With all in approval, next year's officers are as follows:

Chair: Holly Ambuehl Vice Chair: Sue Grant Secretary: Deb Halperin Treasurer: Brandi Sweeney

- X. The next meeting of the JMS Health Care Commission will be Wednesday, May 22, 2019
- XI. Dr. Hamilton moved to adjourn the meeting; Donna Hartweg seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 6:35 pm.