# **BLOOMINGTON POLICE DEPARTMENT**

## STANDARD OPERATING PROCEDURE

# CHILD MURDERER AND VIOLENT OFFENDER AGAINST YOUTH REGISTRATION ACT

Reviewed by:	Ofc. Shawn Albert	Effective Date:	January 1, 2011
Authorized by:	Chief Dan Donath	Revision Date:	October 21, 2019

#### PURPOSE

The following will address the implementation of the Child Murderer and Violent Offender Against Youth Registration Act as it applies to the Bloomington Police Department. The Chief of the Bloomington Police Department has delegated this function to the Community Service Officer (CSO) and/or the police officer at the command tower. The Bloomington Police Department will maintain the current records of registered sex offenders. Registration may be done in-person during the assigned business hours 7:00am till 10:00pm, Monday through Friday, excluding City observed holidays. The on-duty shift supervisor may make exceptions to this rule.

#### **INITIAL REGISTRATION OF A VIOLENT OFFENDER**

- 1. Registrant must provide positive identification and documentation that substantiates proof of residence at the registering address. After obtaining proper identification from the Registrant, conduct a records check to verify the identity of the registrant and that no outstanding warrants exist. If the registrant has a LEADS number, do a computer check on the LEADS number to verify current information regarding the registrant.
  - a. Run a criminal history check to accomplish the following:
    - i. Ensure the offender is required to register
    - ii. Determine the current status of the offender
    - iii. Obtain information required to complete the Illinois Child Murderer and Violent Offender Against Youth Registration Form
    - iv. Determine exact age of the victim
    - v. Verify that the registrant's address is not within 500 feet of school, park, playground, DCFS registered daycare or facility providing services directed exclusively toward persons under the age of 18 years of age unless the sex offender meets specified exemptions

#### **Restrictions do not pertain to Juvenile Delinquent Offenders**

Offenders formerly required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act will remain registered as sex offenders unless formerly noticed by the Illinois State Police of a change to the Violent Offender Against Youth Registration. The registrant should provide proof of such notice at the time of his/her registration.

2. Complete the Illinois Child Murderer and Violent Offender Against Youth Registration Form which is provided by the Illinois State Police. The appropriate forms are located at the front desk of the Bloomington Police Department and can be completed by any CSO or desk officer. The forms may also be obtained directly from the ISP LEADS main page under Forms.

- 3. Require the registrant to read the registration form. If the registrant is unable to read, the registration form will be read to the registrant.
- 4. Ensure the offender signs both sides of the Registration Form and initials all of the rules as outlines on Page 2 of the registration form.
- 5. Obtain two photos of the registrant using a digital camera and a set of fingerprints on the "Illinois State Police Fingerprint Card" or equivalent digital record found through the use of the department's AFIS machine.
- 6. Give the Registrant their copy of the form. Mark it as "copy".
- 7. Submit a copy of the Violent Offender Registration Form to Bloomington Police Department Dispatch Center, fax number 309-434-2590, thus allowing the LEADS entry person to enter the information into LEADS system. (Law requires this to be done by the registering agency within five days.)
- 8. Retain the original signed Registration Form(s) in a clear plastic sleeve and place the completed form in alphabetical order in the Sex Offender books located at the front desk of the Bloomington Police Department.
- 9. The Records Division will maintain an internal Violent Offender Against Youth database.
- 10. The Records Division will disseminate the Child Murderer and Violent Offender Against youth Form and Illinois State Police Fingerprint Card according to the requirements set forth in the Child Murderer and Violent Offender Against Youth Registration Act.
- 11. The applicant shall pay the mandated registration fee outlined under statute 730 ILCS 154/10. The fee shall be \$20.00 for initial registration and \$10.00 for annual renewal. This fee shall be paid at the front desk to the CSO or other authorized law enforcement personnel. The department shall provide the applicant with a receipt showing payment. For those individuals determined by the department to be indigent under the statute, the fee may be waived with a supervisor's approval. Persons, not homeless, who are unable to pay the fee at the time of their initial registration will be registered, and their new date for registration set seven days out from the time of their initial registration. They may pay their fees at the time of their next registration. Additional reporting requirements may be done no more than four times during a year per 730 ILCS 154/10. Refer to this SOP under Violent Offender Registering as Homeless for further information.
- 12. Per 730 ILCS 154/95, it is the duty of the CSO or authorized law enforcement personnel registering a juvenile violent offender to ascertain from the juvenile violent offender whether the juvenile sex offender is enrolled in school. This information will be entered as part of the juvenile offender's registration. Upon completion of the registration, a copy of the juvenile offender's registration form will be made and supplied to the School Resource Officer (SRO). It will be the responsibility of the most senior officer assigned to SRO duties to provide a copy of the violent offender's information to the principal or chief administrative officer of the school and any guidance counselor designated by him or her. The SRO shall advise the school officials that the violent offender registration information shall be kept separately from any and all school records maintained on behalf of the juvenile violent offender. Such information should be readily available to the SRO and school staff to ensure the safety of the school property, staff, and students in their care.

# CHILD MURDERER AND VIOLENT OFFENDER REGISTRATION PAGE 3

13. Violent Offenders who are moving from our jurisdiction must report in person, and complete a registration form noting their intent to move. This form shall be completed and submitted to BPD Dispatch. The CSO or officer accepting this information shall also contact the local agency where the offender is reporting to be moving and inform them of the change.

#### VIOLENT OFFENDER REGISTERING AS HOMELESS

Any violent offender required to register under 730 ILCS 154/10 who lacks a fixed residence must report weekly, in person. The violent offender shall document all the locations where the person stayed during the past seven (7) days as part of their weekly registration. This will be done using the BPD Child Murderer and Violent Offender Against Youth Homeless Registration Form.

### CONTACT WITH VIOLENT OFFENDERS

Any CSO or sworn police officer having contact with a Child Murderer or Violent Offender Against Youth required to register under the Act, shall document their contact either through a police report when justified and in all other cases by using the Sex Offender and VOAY LEADS Supplemental Reporting Form as found on the department F drive. The form shall document the contact with the offender and will be submitted to BPD Dispatch so that the contact may be documented and entered into LEADS.

Any CSO or sworn police officer having contact with an offender who is identified by virtue of their criminal history to be subject to registration but has not been served notice to do so will make arrangements to have notice served or serve notice to register to that offender according to 730 ILCS 154/10 and the administrative rules as outlined by the Department of the Illinois State Police in administration of the act. In determining registration requirements all offense dates/convictions must have occurred after 01/01/1996 and the victim offense under the age of 18.