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Public Affairs Unit 

(309) 434-2355 

police@cityblm.org 

 

Follow us on Facebook at  

 www.facebook.com/cityblmPD 

MOVING  

TO  

TOWN? 

 
 

Child Passenger Protection Act 
In Illinois, Children under the age of 8 

years must be secured in an appropriate 

child restraint system, more commonly 

called a child safety seat. Child safety seats 

include infant seats, convertible seats (rear-

facing for infants and forward-facing for 

toddlers) & booster seats that are used with 

the vehicle lap and shoulder belt system.  

 

School Speed Zones in Illinois 
The following is an excerpt from Chapter 

625 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes, Act 

5, Chapter 11, Section 605: On a school 

day when school children are present and 

so close thereto that a potential hazard ex-

ists because of the close proximity of the 

motorized traffic, no person shall drive a 

motor vehicle at a speed in excess of 20 

miles per hour while passing a school zone 

or while traveling on a roadway on public 

school property or upon any public thor-

oughfare where children pass going to and 

from school.  

 

OffenderWatch 
The Bloomington Police Department offers 

a free online service called Offender-

Watch®. This program provides infor-

mation concerning convicted sex offenders, 

violent offenders against youth, and mur-

derers residing in Bloomington. Citizens 

can also report suspicious activity concern-

ing offenders through OffenderWatch. To 

access OffenderWatch, go to BPD’s web-

site at www.cityblm.org/offenderwatch 

 

We’ll Make Room! 

 

For more information,  

contact us: 

Visit our website at  

www.cityblm.org/police 

                                        Steve Smedley / The Pantagraph 

http://www.cityblm.org/offenderwatch


 

Need Help? 
Emergency  911 (Police, Fire, Rescue) 

BPD’s Non-emergency number: 309-820-8888 

BPD’s Public Affairs Unit: 309-434-2355 

24-hour Domestic Violence Hotline: 309-827-7070 

McLean County Crime Stoppers: 309-828-1111 

 

Bloomington Police Department 

305 S. East Street 

Bloomington, Illinois 61701 

 
Crime & Intelligence Analysis Unit 
To provide information about drug sales, or 

gang activity that does not require an immediate 

response, contact BPD’s Crime & Intelligence 

Analysis Unit at (309) 434-2963 or  

ciau@cityblm.org.  If no one is available to an-

swer your call, please leave the information on 

the voicemail or send it by e-mail. You may 

leave information anonymously. 

 

Crime Maps 
The Bloomington Police Department  offers a 

public crime mapping system which shares 

crime information with the community to reduce 

crime, improve public safety and enhance neigh-

borhood-police partnerships. Users of this site 

can utilize the interactive maps and data dash-

boards to become better informed about criminal 

activity. The crime maps are located on the 

Bloomington Police Department’s website at 

www.cityblm.org/police 
 

 

 

Welcome Neighbor! 

If you’re new in town, we want any surprises 

to be good ones.  You should know about 

certain laws and procedures that may differ 

from other cities and states. 
 

In Illinois: 

 You may not use a hand-held wireless 

telephone while operating a motor vehi-

cle on a roadway in Illinois. 

 

 As a new Illinois resident, you may con-

tinue to drive on your valid out-of-state 

driver's license for 90 days. CDL holders 

must obtain an Illinois CDL within 30 

days of becoming an Illinois resident. 

 

 Front and rear license plates are required. 

 

 Right turn on red allowed after a        

complete stop, unless posted  otherwise. 

 

 If you use your windshield wipers, your 

headlights must be on. 

 

 There are laws against excessively noisy  

stereos and exhaust systems. 

 

 The breath alcohol content (BAC) limit is 

.08% (.00% for drivers under 21). 

 

 Firearm owners identification (FOID) 

cards are required for gun owners. 

 

 Speed limit in cities is 30 MPH unless 

posted otherwise. 

 

 Curfew:  Those under 17 must be in by 

11:00 PM Sunday through Thursday and 

by Midnight on  Friday and Saturday. 

 

 

Parking Don’ts 
In Bloomington it is illegal to: 
 park against the flow of  traffic 

 park within 20 feet of a crosswalk 

 park within 30 feet of a traffic control 

device (light or sign) 

 park on any street over 24 hours without 

moving the vehicle 

 

Ordinance Violation (OV) Ticket 
Certain city ordinance violations, some of 

which mirror state law, may be written as 

OV tickets. Court appearances may be avoid-

ed by paying the fine prior to the court date. 

 

Alarm Ordinance 
There is a $100 fine for each false alarm 

(panic, robbery or burglary) after four within 

a calendar  year. 

 

Code enforcement / Inspections 
Complaints of substandard housing may be 

directed to Building Safety at 309-434-2226.  

Weeds, garbage, graffiti and other building 

code violations may be reported to Code En-

forcement at 309-434-2244.  

 
Police Accountability 
Police complaints, concerns or compliments 

may be directed to the watch commander on 

duty at 309-434-2360. 

 

 

 
 

mailto:ciau@cityblm.org

